Spread the love
All Odisha Shiva Temple eodishaorg

Famous Lord Shiva temples in Odisha – List of Shiva Temple

  • Astasambhu Siva Temples is a collection of 8 Hindu temples dedicated to Lord Siva located in Bhubaneswar
  • Ajaikapada Bhairava Temple is dedicated to Ekapada Bhairava – an aspect of Shiva – present in Jagatsinghpur district
  • Akhandalamani Temple at Aradi village, Orissa, India, is dedicated to Lord Siva. Aradi is about 37 kilometers away from Bhadrak.
  • Annakoteshwara Temple or Urnakoteshvara is located in Latadeipur near Gondia tehsil in Dhenkanal district.
  • Bhuvaneshwar Temple is located in Malipara in the Boudh township on the left side of road leading from Boudh to Sonepur, it is situated on the right bank of Mahanadi.
  • Brahmeswara Temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to Lord Siva located in Bhubaneswar, Odisha, erected at the end of the 9th century CE, is richly carved inside and out.
  • Chandaneshwar (Oriya: ଚନ୍ଦନେଶ୍ଵର) is famous for a Shiva temple in Chandaneswar, Baleswar, Orissa

  • It is a living temple and the presiding deity is a patalaphuta Shivalinga within a circular yonipitha.It is located in the Krushnapur village near Bahugram in Cuttack district.
  • Dhabaleswar Temple is dedicated to the worship of Lord Shiva. It is situated at a distance of 37 kilometers from the city of Cuttack, in the exotic island of Dhabaleshwar.
  • Dutikeswar Mahadev : The temple is situated at the foot of Sulia hills, 32 kms from Nayagarh stands the shrine of Sri Dutikeswar Mahadev. A centuries-old Banyan Tree popularly known as kalpabata stands magnanimoitsly in front of the temple adjoining a pond. – See more at
  • Gupteswar Cave is a city shrine dedicated to Lord Shiva. It is a world-famous pilgrim site situated about 55 km away Jeypore, Koraput District in the state of Odisha, India.
  • Godhaneswar temple is located on the bank of river Mahanadi in the Godhaneswar village. The name Godhaneswar means lord of cows. It is a very famous shiva temple of Birmaharajpur subdisvison of Subarnapur district,
  • Indralath Temple (Oriya: ଇନ୍ଦ୍ରଲାଠ ଦେଉଳ) is dedicated to Shiva and is situated in Kantabanji block near Ranipur-Jharial in Balangir district.
  • Kapilash Temple is situated in the north eastern part of Dhenkanal town, Odisha, India at a distance of 26 km from the district head quarters
  • The Kapilesvara Siva temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to Lord Siva located in the south western outskirt of the village Kapilesvara, Old Town, Bhubaneswar, Orissa, India.
  • Kedareswar Temple, one of the eight Astasambhu Temples, is near the Mukteswar Temple, in Bhubaneswar
  • Kosalesvara temple or Kosaleswara temple located at Baidyanatha of Subarnapur district,
  • The temple of ladubaba is at Sarankul, which is 13 kms far from Nayagarh,This is one of the prominent Shiva pithas of Orissa . The king of Nayagarh, Ladukeswar Sing Mandhata constructed this temple on his name. On Jagar(Sivaratri) day a great fair is held here every year.
  • The Leaning Temple of Huma in Odisha is the only leaning temple in the world.It is located in Huma, a village situated on the bank of the Mahanadi, 23 km south of Sambalpur
  • Lingaraj Temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to Harihara, a form of Shiva and is one of the oldest temples of Bhubaneswar,
  • Jagannath temple lays the 11th century Lokanatha temple, dedicated to Lord Shiva. According to history the lingam in this temple was established by Lord Rama. The unique feature is that the shivalinga is always under water which substantiates the legend that Goddess Ganga flows through the top of the shivalinga as a stream. The festival that is celebrated with great fervor and pomp is the Saranti Somavar Fair while devotees believe that the shivalinga has powers to cure diseases after seeking the darshan of Lord Shiva. The utsava murti of Lokanatha is kept inside the Jagannath temple, Puri. He is the guardian deity of all the treasures and jewellery of Lord Jagannath
  • The ancient Markandeswar Shiva Temple is situated in the Markandeswar street by the side of the Markandeswar tank, to the north of the Jagannath temple, Puri.
  • Mukteswara deula is a 10th-century Hindu temple dedicated to Shiva located in Bhubaneshwar, Odisha, India.
  • Murga Mahadeva Shrine is dedicated to Lord Shiva.It is located in Nuamundi mines area under Champua subdivision of Kendujhar district.
  • Panchalingeshwar Temple (Oriya: ପଞ୍ଚଲିଙ୍ଗେଶ୍ଵର) is in Balasore district of Orissa. It named after the five Shivalinga that are enshrined inside. The temple is on top of a hillock near the Nilagiri hill (not to be confused with that of Western Ghats).
  • Parsurameswar Temple, located in Bhubaneshwar, Orissa, India, is the best preserved specimen of an early Hindu temple dated to the Sailodbhava period of the seventh and eighth centuries A.D. The temple is dedicated to Shiva and is one of the oldest temples in Orissa. Built during 650 AD in Nagara style
  • Rajarani Temple is an 11th-century Hindu temple located in Bhubaneswar, the capital city of Odisha, India. The temple is originally believed to be known as Indreswara and locally known as “love temple” on account of the erotic carvings of women and couples in the temple. Rajatemple is built on pnahcratha style on a raised platform with two structures; a central shrine namely the vimana (sanctum) with the bada (the curvilinear spire) over its roof raising up to a height of 18 m (59 ft) and a viewing hall called jagamohana with a pyramidal roof . The temple was constructed of dull red and turbid yellow sandstone locally called “Rajarani”.
  • The Rameshwar temple is very old temple in Bhubaneswar and known as the Mausi Maa(Oriya:ମାଉସୀ ମା ଦେଉଳ) temple of Lingaraj Temple.It is located from 2 km distance from Lingaraj shrine.
  • Simhanath Temple is dedicated to Shiva who is worshipped by Nrisimha, an avatar of Vishnu. The temple has a rekha deula and terraced roof jagamohana of traditional phase of temple style of Kalingan order. The temple is unique for its sculptural embellishment of both the Saivaite and Vaishnava cult. It is located in the Gopinathpur village, Baramba tehsil of Cuttack district. It can be easily approached by road from Cuttack, Chaudwar and Athgarh.
  • Subarnameru Temple is situated in Sonepur town in Subarnapur district of Orissa.It is a shrine for the worshipping of Shiva
  • Yameshwar or Jameshwar Temple is a very old temple dedicated to Shiva being worshiped by Yama.It is situated in Bhubaneswar near Bharati Math,in Jameshwar Patna.

If we have missed any Shiva Temple Of Odisha then request to mail us with details to publish by Your Name . Check the link