Spread the love

Latest Odisha election News – Rudramadhab Ray suspended from BJD Party #Odisha #News #Election2014

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Saturday acted tough on the senior party leader and sitting MP from Kandhamal Lok Sabha seat Rudramadhab Ray suspending him from the party. Party president and chief minister Naveen Patnaik took the step for Ray’s alleged anti-party activities.

In his reaction, Ray said Nayagarh MLA Arun Sahu persuaded the party leadership for his suspension. “Mysuspension would cost dear for the BJD. The party will suffer more after my suspension”, Ray said. On the other hand, Arun Sahu clarified his stand. “Being a party leader, he was supporting Congress in his constituency, he said. The decision was taken by the CM Naveen Patnaik only and I had no role in it”, he added.

According to sources Rudramadhab was denied party ticket from his Kandhamal parliamentary segment and was replaced Hemendra Singh who joined BJD after quiting Congress party. Ray allegedly had organized a number of similar political meetings within the party in a bid to pressurize party supremo to reconsider his candidature. Moreover, he denied party’s election meeting in his constituency.

Ray was among the six sitting MPs — Mohan Jena (Jajpur), Jayram Pangi (Koraput), Nityananda Pradhan (Aaska), Yashbant Narayan Singh Laguri (Keonjhar) and Laxman Tudu (Mayurbhanj) — who had been denied BJD tickets for the 2014 elections.