Spread the love

Bhubaneswar:  BASANT RATH,  Bureau Chief

The nomination papers of three independent candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections were rejected after scrutiny on Wednesday, five candidates in fray.rs poll

The nomination papers of independent candidates – Ramesh Mohanty, Binod Kumar Mishra and Ganeswar Mishra – were rejected because they did not have the required number of proposers. The nomination papers of the three BJD candidates – Kalpataru Das, Ananga Uday Singhdeo and Sarojini Hembram, independent candidate  Padma Bibhusan Raghunath Mahapatra is fourth candidate supported by BJD, Congress candidate  former MP and Indian Premier League (IPL) Chairman Ranjib Biswal were found valid after scrutiny,” said Amiya Bhushan Sarangi, Returning Officer for the Rajya Sabha elections. The date of withdrawal of nominations is on January 31 and voting would take place on 7th February.