Spread the love


Five candidates will be in the fray for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections. The ruling BJD had fielded two ministers– Panchayatiraj Minister Kalpataru Das, Handloom and Textile Minister Sarojini Hembram, and former minister and sitting MLA  AU Singhdeo in the election.rs poll

During the scrutiny on Wednesday the nomination papers of three independent candidates were rejected. The nomination papers of independent candidates – Ramesh Mohanty, Binod Kumar Mishra and Ganeswar Mishra – were rejected because they did not have the required number of proposers.

The nomination papers of the three ruling Biju, Janata Dal (BJD) candidates – Kalpataru Das, Ananga Uday Singhdeo and Sarojini Hembram, independent candidate  Padma Bibhusan Raghunath Mahapatra is fourth candidate supported by BJD, Congress candidate  former MP and Indian Premier League (IPL) Chairman Ranjib Biswal were found valid after scrutiny,” said Amiya Bhushan Sarangi, Returning Officer for the Rajya Sabha elections. The date of withdrawal of nominations is on January 31 and voting would take place on 7th February.