Spread the love

Odisha’s Pride : The Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science .The Kalinga Prize was established in 1951 by UNESCO with a generous grant from Late Shri Mr Bijoyananda Patnaik ( Biju Patnaik ), Founder President of the Kalinga Foundation Trust.

The recipient of this annual award must have demonstrated — during a brilliant career as writer, editor, lecturer, film producer, radio/television programme director or presenter — talent in interpreting science and technology for the public. The recipient should have striven to emphasize the international importance of science and technology and the contribution they make to improving public welfare, enriching the cultural heritage of nations, and solving problems facing humanity. Many past prize winners have been scientists, while others have been trained in journalism or have been educators or writers.

Odisha's Pride  The Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science logo eodisha.org award discussion

The laureate is selected by the Director-General of UNESCO upon the recommendation of a four-member jury designated by him. Three members of the jury from different countries of the world are designated on the basis of equitable geographical distribution and the fourth on the recommendation of the Kalinga Foundation Trust.

The Kalinga Prize is awarded during the Celebration of the World Science Day in odd years (2003, 2005, etc.) and in New Delhi, India, in even years. Under the terms of the Prize, the recipient receives twenty thousand dollars (20,000 USD) and a UNESCO Albert Einstein Silver Medal.

The recipient is also awarded the Ruchi Ram Sahni Chair, introduced by the Government of India in 2001 to mark the 50th anniversary of the Kalinga Prize. As holder of the Ruchi Ram Sahni Chair, the winner travels to India for a period of two to four weeks as the guest of the Government of India. The Chair also comprises a token honorarium of USD 2,000.

In the years when the award ceremony take place during the celebration of the World Science Day, the recipient travels to the city where the science day is being celebrated (2003 in Budapest) as the guest of UNESCO.
The Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science is administered by the Science Analysis and Policies Division of UNESCO.


The prizes has been awarded to 65 people from 22 countries. Louis de Broglie(France), the first recipient of the Kalinga Prize. Only , 5 Indian got this prestigious award.

As first Indian laureate , Jagjit singh who got the Kalinga prize.The odia laureates are Gokulananda Mohapatra and 91-year-old zoologist Basanta Kumar Behura . . Read more about the other prize holders , Click here

One thought on “Kalinga Prize : For the Popularization of Science by UNESCO ,Founded by Great Odia Late Biju Patnaik”

Comments are closed.