Spread the love

Odisha to have 9 special development councils for tribal #Odisha #News #Tribal


Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Wednesday announced the setting up of Special Development Councils in nine tribal districts for the inclusive growth of tribals in the state.

With an aim to uplift the economic condition of tribals as well as provide quality education to them while keeping their unique identity intact, the State Cabinet today approved a proposal to set up the Tribal Special Development Council in nine districts.

The development council will function in Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Sundargarh, Kandhamal, Gajapati, Malkangiri, Rayagada, Koraput and Nabarangpur districts.

Here are 62 tribal communities, including 13 vulnerable ones, in the state. The tribals account for 22 per cent of the state’s population and 10 per cent of India’s tribal population.

“In a democratic system based on majority, it is our experience that many small tribal groups do not get represented directly in higher decision-making fora. It is in this context that the formation of these development councils is significant,” Patnaik said.

He said these councils will have representations from every tribe living in the respective district and about Rs 1.5 crore will be allotted to each block under these councils and a total of Rs 175.50 crore will be spent per annum through these bodies.

By admin

Proud Odia