Spread the love

Nrutya Naibedya #Odissi Utsav 2017 from May 22 to 24 at Bhanja Kala Mandap #Bhubaneswar #Odisha
Providing a platform for nearly one hundred young Odishi dancers from across India as solo performers, the second edition of the Nrutya Naibedya Odishi Utsav will be staged at the Bhanja Kala Mandap here from May 22 to 24. It is being hosted by city-based dance institute Nrutya Naibedya.

“Solo dancing is the soul of Indian classical dances, but there is very little scope for young dancers to prove their talents as soloists. Hence, this annual festival was conceptualised by three fabulous male Odishi dancers of Bhubaneswar, Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Prativa Puraskar winner Lingaraj Pradhan, Pankaj Kumar Pradhan and Pravat Kumar Swain,” informed festival committee chairperson and National Sangeet Natak Akademi Award winner Mardal Guru Dhaneswar Swain.

“Despite being groomed at the famous Odisha Dance Academy, we hardly got any scope to showcase our talents as budding and emerging solo dancers that always made us depressed. So, it was my aim to create a platform for young dancers someday. I launched the festival last year and it received rave response,” added festival director Pravat Kumar Swain, who runs the Nrutya Naibedya.

All major Odishi dance institutions are invited to recommend one of their young talents every year for the festival who are offered hospitality, informed the hosts.

The festival this year features Preetisha Mohapatra, granddaughter of legendary Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra; Arupa Gayatri Panda (disciple of Aruna Mohanty), Vrinda Chadha from New Delhi (disciple of Ranjana Gauhar), Sulagna Ray from Kolkata (disciple of Poushali Mukherjee), Mitali Varadkar from Mumbai (disciple of Shubhada), Sahana R Maiya from Bengaluru, disciple of Madhulita Mohapatra), Sudeshna Mohanty and ManishaManaswini from Bhubaneswar (disciples of Rosalin Mohapatra), Puspa Panda from Cuttack (disciple of Meera Das) among others, it was learnt.

The festival committee has instituted an annual award, Nrutya Neibedya Samman, to honour an Odishi dance exponent. While Guru Aruna Mohanty was conferred the honour last year, Guru Bichitrananda Swain would be the recipient this year.

The festival has a talent search section in which 60 budding dancers of Odisha would perform in front of a jury of Odishi dance experts, and the outstanding performers would be awarded with Nrutya Naibdeya Odishi Prativa Puraskar, the hosts added. Read More 

Final Day list of nrutya Naivedya odissi ustav :-

First Day of Odissi Festival :-

2nd  Day of Odissi Festival :- 

3rd Day of Odissi Festival :- 

By admin

Proud Odia