Spread the love

Bhubaneswar:  BASANT RATH, Bureau Chief

download (3)download (5)download (4)Raghunath Mohapatra






Ruling BJD announced candidates for RS polls they are A U Singh Deo, Kalpatru Das, Sarojin Hembram,  &  Padma Bibhusan Raghunath Mahapatra is fourth candidate supported by BJD. AICC Announced former MP & Indian Premier League (IPL) chairman Ranjib Biswal for Rajya Sabha seat. The BJD, which has 107 MLAs and support of one Independent, has the strength of winning three seats. The party has 18 surplus votes. The Congress has just 27 “Support of just three MLAs can help Congress to get the required first preference votes for victory of 4th candidate.

In the current Assembly, the BJD has 107 members, the Congress 27, the BJP six, the CPI one & six Independent members. Filing of nominations would continue up to January 28. The scrutiny of the nomination papers would be held on January 29, while the date of withdrawal of nominations is on January 31.The voting would take place on February 7.