Baisi Pahacha – The Significance of 22 Steps of Lord #Jagannath #Temple #Puri #Odisha Article by Shish Sarangi

Spread the love

Baisi Pahacha – The Significance of 22 Steps of Lord Jagannath Temple #Odisha #Puri – Article By Mr Ashish Sarangi

The TWENTY TWO steps of Lord Jagannath Temple, Puri
To see the Lord of Universe or Lord Jagannath, one has to climb the twenty two steps (baisi pahacha in odiya) through lions gate (simha dwar). Many interpretations are there to symbolise these twenty two steps which are to be climbed to reach inner complex of the temple. Different religious interpretations are given to these Holy Steps so that one can feel the sense of sacrificing all sin and be prepared in body and mind to see the GOD with all holiness.
These steps are considered so sacred that pilgrims touch these in hand with reverence and also allowed their children to roll on.

Baisi-Pahacha“Nibrati prabrati e dui bhed jaana mana re
E dui rupa aapa barga thile nbrati nhoi nmilei jana tapa
Ananta aapabarga jini yehu brhma bhajanti
Baisi aasakti jinile nirguna brahma milanti”
Sishuveda, sishu ananta das

First Interpretation:
As per yogashastra a man posses 5 types of mana and 25 types of prakrti. Out of these 25 prakrti, 3 are Apara and 22 are Para prakrti.

The 22 para prakrti are:
1) Kama
2) Sambhoga
3) Keli
4) Lova
5) Sancaya
6) Kosa or panjikarna
7) Abamaya
8) Himsa
9) Ersa
10) Kisunata
11) Kapata
12) Mithya
13) Ghma
14) Ninda
15) Ajnata
16) Krodha
17) Raga
18) Dvesa
19) Ahankar
20) Mada or parba
21) Utkantha
22) Maithuna

A yogi has to cross twenty two para prakrti to see the lord.

Second Interpretation:

Baikuntha, the place of lord vishnu, is situated above sapta lokas, sapta patala and ashta baikunth.

These are as follows:
Sapta loka Sapta patala Astha baikuntha
1) Bhu loka 1)Atal patala 1)Sri baikuntha
2) Bhubaha loka 2)Sutal patala 2)Kaibalya baikuntha
3) Svaha loka 3)Bital patala 3)Karanamaba baikuntha
4) Maha loka 4)Talatala patala 4)Sesasai baikuntha
5) Jana loka 5)Mahatala patala 5)Svetadeep baikuntha
6) Tapa loka 6)Rasatala patala 6)Parabyoma baikuntha
7) Satya loka 7)Patala 7)Garbhodaka sai baikuntha
8)Kailasa baikuntha

One has to cross Seven Loka, Seven Patala and Eight Baikuntha and hence these are symbolically represented as 22 steps.

Also Read – Hidden Meaning Of Baisipahacha Of jagannath Temple #Odisha #Jaganath #Puri
Third Interpretation:
It symbolises the Panca Matra, Pancha Bhuta, Panca Vija, Panca Deva and Jiva and Parama. Hence 22 steps are there.

Fourth Interpretation:
Further it symbolizes twenty two tirthas of Shrimad Bhagbat with ten GOD.
1) Basudeva
2) Narayana
3) Madan-mohan
4) Ram-krsna
5) Sridevi
6) Bhudevi
7) Bimala
8) Bhubanesvari
9) Pancarasa Asta Sattika Bhaba
10) Tribija
11) Trisakti
12) Triguna
Hence calculating all , these are represented in 22 steps.

Fifth Interpretation:

1) First five steps describes all five sense organs. Eye, ear, nose, tongue and skin.
2) Second five steps five breathing prana. Up-brathing(prana), down-breathing(aprana),back-brathing(vyana),out-breathing(udana), and on-breathing(samana).
3) Third five steps describes the inner beauty. Looks(rupa), aesthetics(rasa), taste(swad), smell(gandha) and noise(sabda).
4) Fourth five stepsare for pancamahabhutas. Earth, water, fire, air and space.
5) Twentyfirst step is for wisdom.
6) Twentysecond step is for ego.
After crossing each of these steps , a pilgrim can see the Lord Jagannath.

Sixth Interpretation

AS PER THE Bhagvata purana , there are twenty four avataras of lord vishnu. Out of these twenty two are considered most important and these in form of steps symbolises for salvation. These are:
1. Caturasana
2. Narada
3. Varaha
4. Matsya
5. Yajna
6. Nara-Narayana
7. Kapila
8. Dattatreya
9. Prsnigarbha
10. Rsabha
11. Prithu
12. Narasimha
13. Kurama
14. Dhanvantari
15. Mohini
16. Vamana
17. Parasurama
18. Rama
19. Vyasa
20. Balarama
21. Krsna
22. Kalki.
According to belief, all sins of the pilgrims disappear when they touch these step even once.

Seventh Interpretation
As per Jainism, these twenty two steps of Puri temple represent Twenty Two Tirthankars out of twenty four. The other Two Tirthankars are represented through the Ratnavedi of the temple and the Grand Road or Badadanda of Puri. When a jain devotee enters the temple and starts climbing these holy steps , he touches each step with deep respect .

Baisi pahacha or the Twenty Two steps is the to salvation. In different bhajans , these steps are described as the place where one can examine himself and affirms his faith in the Lord of Universe or lord Jagannath…..

The Baisi (22) Pahacha (steps) which connects the Lion’s gate (Singhadwara Gumuta) to the 2nd gate (Baisi Pahacha Gumuta) inside the temple has long since been considered an important part of the Sri Jagannath temple. Though the exact time of its construction is not mentioned anywhere in historical or puranic texts, legends say that it was built by a king named Bhanudev. After passing through the Lions’ gate of the Sri Jagannath temple, one has to go up these steps and then pass through a 2nd gateway out to a courtyard from where one can get into the main temple. The length of each step is 70 feet, width 6 feet and height 6-7 inches. A stone called “Yamashila” is engraved into the 3rd step, which the devotees must step on while going up the steps [it frees from the reasons to be punished by Yama] but must not step on the stone on the way back, since it takes away the merits of Sri Jagannath darshan.

Comments are closed.